Three Things Thursday!

1. March Break is almost here!

20130307-130649.jpg

I am so looking forward to March Break! Although I would love to be spending the week on a warm, sunny beach somewhere in the Caribbean, we will instead be hanging out a home doing a few day trips and getting a little R and R.

So far on our agenda is:

– a trip to the Toronto Zoo

– a visit with my sister and her kids in Kitchener

– a morning at the Maple Syrup Festival in Stouffville

Other than that, I’m thinking a little baking, a little craft making and a whole lot of just relaxing!

2. Last night I made Oven Baked Chicken Parmesan from the March 2013 issue of Clean Eating Magazine. As you may remember, one of my goals for 2013 is to try one new Clean Eating recipe each week – this one was another hit – my husband actually said I was the best chicken parm he’s ever had! That’s a huge compliment… Way to go CE Magazine!

20130307-125804.jpg

3. Sugar Shock! The World Health Organization suggests that no more than 10 percent of your total daily calories come from added sugar. The American Heart Association recommends that women eat less than six teaspoons of added sugar every day, and that men should not eat more than nine teaspoons of added sugar. That’s about 100 and 150 calories for women and men, respectively. (Source)

I saw this info graphic posted on Facebook and thought, holy crap, I’m over my sugar limit just in consuming fruit each day!

20130307-125941.jpg

I pretty much have a glass of OJ with my breakfast (6 tsp), an apple (6 tsp) and a banana (4.5 tsp) each day. That alone is 16.5 tsp (at 15 calories per) that’s just over 247 calories or about 14.5 % of my daily calorie consumption.

And if you add in my usual daily treat – either a a can of Coke (10 tsp), a Starbucks Chai Latte (10.5 tsp), or a handful of sour candies (7 tsp) or peanut m&m’s (6.5 tsp) I’m ridiculously over!

I don’t feel guilty about consuming natural sugars (those in fruit and dairy), but I definitely need to cut out that extra stuff!

Stay tuned for an upcoming Sugar Strike Challenge!

2 responses to “Three Things Thursday!

  1. Nice list! Wow seriously crazy on the sugar!

  2. I feel like we are soul sisters on the sugar thing! And the peanut M&Ms are so good but also so bad. Yay for the sugar strike!

Leave a Reply

