Three Things Thursday – 31 Days to a Healthier You!

As I mentioned earlier, I am participating in Fitness Cheerleader’s 31 Days to a Healthier You. I’m absolutely loving this week’s challenges and thought that I would share a few of them with you as this week’s Three Things Thusday.

1. Monday’s Challenge – Start and end your day with a dance party
This might seem a little out of the ordinary for most of you, but dance parties happen all the time at our house! My daughter Ryan loves to dance and my little guy Tanner just can’t sit still when music is playing. Unfortunately all of our dance videos are on my husbands phone, but here is one of my kids dancing with my sister Cathy and her husband Rory just last weekend! We love dance parties!

2. Tuesday’s Challenge – Do a handstand push-up
I’m pretty sure I’ve never actually done a handstand before, let alone a handstand push-up! Needless to say, I didn’t have a whole lot of success.

I actually did this challenge during my period 5 Fitness class and my students loved it. I’m not sure if they loved that I would do something so crazy in front of them, or the fact that I failed at it miserably!

I seriously tried this like 40 times! At first I was so scared I was going to bang my head against the wall that I didn’t want to step into the handstand and just tried flinging my feet up from a downward dog-ish position.

FAIL!

When I realized that there was no way that was going to work for me, I put my fear aside and stepped into it. I had a bit more success doing it this way, but slugged to keep my back straight, my hands far enough apart, and not totally wrench my neck since I could not get past not looking at the wall, even when upside-down!

FAIL!

After about 25 tires, I finally figured it all out and managed to get up and stay up – unfortuanely, the girl who was working the camera didn’t start recording until I was up there for a bit (like 5 seconds) and once she did, I fell over!

FAIL!

Here is my final attempt, not great, but I managed to get in a bit (and I mean bit) of a push-up before falling back.

FAIL(ish)!

All and I it was super fun! I loved trying something new and will definitely be doing this again.

3. Wednesday’s Challenge – Plank it out!
This challenge was to hold a plank for as long as you can, three separate times during the day. Apparently, I need to work on my core strength 🙂

Round1 – 1:43

20130117-084854.jpg

Round 2 – 1:12

20130117-084959.jpg

Round 3: 1:48

20130117-085133.jpg

Can you do a handstand push-up? Link up your video in the comments section below! I’d love to see how it’s really done!

5 responses to “Three Things Thursday – 31 Days to a Healthier You!

  1. OK. I have to try this now.

  2. My husband just did his first handstand push-up last week. It was a BIG DEAL in our house 🙂

Leave a Reply

