13 in 2013 – Week 1 Update

Well, we are officially one week into 2013…how are you doing with your goals?

20130108-184252.jpg

Here’s where I stand after week 1…

1. Spend less, save more – πŸ‘Our budget is pretty much set, money is set aside for saving, pension buy-back and the kids RESP’s. Our home phone is cancelled and we got a better deal on our cable and Internet…bonus!

2. Run a 1:58 half marathon – πŸ‘ Off season training has begun. I’m running regularly and have started lifting weights to build strength.

3. Try one new clean eating recipe a week – πŸ‘ This weeks recipe was Eat Clean Hash Brown, Sausage and Egg Muffins from the Nov/Dec 2012 issue of Clean Eating Magazine. They were delicious! I’ve eaten them for breakfast and lunch and still have a few more left!

20130108-195918.jpg

4. Become a certified RPM instructor – πŸ‘Ž I only made it to one RPM class once last week and it absolutely killed me! I am still having difficulty breathing and my endurance has definitely declined from being sick for so long! I’m hoping to build up to 2 classes a week once my pneumonia fully clears up, but in the meantime, I will continue to struggle through one class a week.

5. Do 10 chin-ups – πŸ‘ Week 1, workout 1, complete! I found out I actually CAN do a chin- up, who knew? Workout 2 is tomorrow, and 3 will be on Friday.

6. Build strength – πŸ‘Starting next week I am going to be following a 12 week strength training program, so this week I am doing random workouts. Yesterday I did this workout designed by Fitness Cheerleader, and to be honest, I’m a little sore today!

20130108-192514.jpg

Thursday I will be doing the Fitness Blender 1000 rep workout, and Friday I’m doing Tone it Ups, Toned in 12 Ab Circuit.

7. Go to bed earlier – πŸ‘Ž I totally sucked at this one! For various reasons, I just couldn’t get myself to bed by 9:30! This is definitly going to be a focus this week.

8. Blog more – πŸ‘ Last week I blogged 5 days which is exactly what I was hoping for, but I didn’t blog at all on the weekend, which is something I would like to do.

9. Run 3x a week – πŸ‘ Done! I ran Monday, Wednesday and Friday, for a total of 1 hour 53 minutes, I went 9.6 miles and burned 958 calories.

10. Drink more water – πŸ‘Ž I do really well with drinking water while I’m at work, but since I wasn’t at work last week, I did not meet my goal of 2L once! Brutal! This too will be a focus this week!

11. Read 52 books – πŸ‘ I am 2/3s of the way through my first book and hope to finish it in the next few days. I have the librarian at my school pulling her favourites and hope to start book 2 by the weekend. Any recommendations?

12. Take at least 2 family trips – πŸ‘ I would really love to take the kids on a beach vacation, but do not want to be using credit to do so. So, I’ve started a little savings account with hopes of having enough saved for a 2014 March Break vacation. As for our 2013 trips, I’m thinking camping for sure, and still need to come up with a few more ideas.

Any Ontarian’s know when bookings open up for provincial parks?

13. Date night once a month – πŸ‘ My husband and I have tossed around a few ideas for our first date night of 2013. We are hoping to go out next weekend and will be securing babysitting tomorrow…hopefully!

Overall, I’d say I’m doing quite well!

I’m reading, I’m running, I’m lifting weights, I’m saving money, I’m trying new recipes and I’m blogging more!

Yes, I realize we are only one week in, but I’m super excited about goals I have set and the plans I have made. I think that my goals are very realistic and attainable.

My focus for this week will be drinking more water and getting to bed earlier.

How did week 1 go for you?
What did you accomplish? What did you struggle with?
I’d love to hear how you are doing! Share your highs and lows in the comments section below!

5 responses to “13 in 2013 – Week 1 Update

  1. You are doing fantastic!!! Way to go! However, I’m just going to say…you are a maniac for so MANY resolutions….I’d make myself nuts! And you are not me…so if it’s working for you…good for you!!
    1. We are also on the “budget” a little more stringently this year…trying to snowball onto last year’s cuts of: no home phone (went to Magic Jack which works off cable)…super cheap and the kids have access to a phone if we aren’t home. Also cut cable..put in an antennae and have a Roku box which can stream so much TV we really haven’t missed it.
    3. I’ll have to try that hash brown egg recipe…I am slowly switching over to clean (ish) eating and actually loving it, however, I know next week I’m going to have to shake it up to avoid boredom!

    • Thanks Tracy!

      Most of my goals for 2013 are are things I do already, I just want to be more consistent with them and try new a few new things while I’m at it!

      Definitely try that hash brown recipes…they are deeeeelish! I’m looking forward to trying the Spaghetti Squash with Chicken, Pears and Parmesan this week! I love clean eating, I definitely feel more energetic when I’m eating clean!

      I’m super pumped about how much money we will save with cancelling our home phone. Have any more great money saving ideas?

      • I’ve started making the switch to clean(er) eating this past 2 wks and can ABSOLUTELY say what a difference I feel in my energy, less bloating and generally better overall. My biggest challenge is the pre-planning that is involved for me to be successful with it. So far so good, just taking it one day/week at a time πŸ™‚

        the only other $saving tip is (and to be honest, we aren’t great at this, but getting better)…is to go to all cash for all purchases. no debit. no credit. you really do spend less. And our other fun saver is…..THRIFT SHOPS. Oh my GOODNESS the scores we’ve made!!! Even our kids join in! Good luck!

  2. I’m doing pretty good. My focus this month was to limit any spending outside of food and immediate household needs. Have stuck to it so far – which means I’ve simply avoided walking into Target πŸ˜‰

    I like your circuit workout – I might have to try that! Hash Brown, Sausage and Egg Muffins look delicious! I tried that without hashbrowns a while ago, and i didn’t save them, because I wasn’t sure how they’d heat up… I might do that again, it was so nice and easy!

Leave a Reply

