My Action Plan

Yesterday I wrote about my goals for 2013, now I need to take it one step further and devise a plan of action. So, here we go:

1. Spend less, save more – For this to happen, we need to create a family budget. Since my husband is self employed, our family income is constantly fluctuating, which makes budgeting for our family a little more difficult. I will be doing some research over the next few weeks on creating a budget with a fluctuating income and will have our budget hashed out by the end of January.

Right off the bat, I can think of a few small changes we can make to save more money.
– Meal plan and grocery shop only once a week.
– Get rid of our home phone (which we actually did today).
– Borrow books from the library rather than buy them.
– Shop at Costco for items we use/eat frequently.
– Eat out less.

2. Run a 1:58 half marathon – I plan on running two half marathons this year, one in the spring (May) and one in the fall (October). I have training programs that I’ve used in the past, and will be starting my official 12 week training program for my spring race in February.

3. Try one new clean eating recipe a week – I have a ton of Clean Eating magazines and cookbooks with recipes I want to try already flagged. Each Saturday I will choose what I will be making for the week so I can pick up everything I need on my Sunday grocery shop.

I’ve already selected my January recipes:
– This week: Hash Brown, Sausage and Egg Muffins – Clean Eating, Nov/Dec 2012, p. 40
– Week of Jan 6 – Spaghetti Squash with Chicken, Pears and Parmesan – Clean Eating, Nov/Dec 2012, p. 75
– Week of Jan 13 – Kung Pao Chicken – Clean Eating Classic Comfort Foods, p. 96
– Week of Jan 20 – Dark Fudgy Brownies – Clean Eating, Jan/Feb 2013, p. 56
– Week of Jan 27 – Leek, Potato and Cheddar Soup – Clean Eating Classic Comfort Foods, p. 26.

4. Become a certified RPM instructor – I am planning to attend the March 30/31 training weekend and will submit my Certification Assessment video before the end of June.

5. Do 10 chin-ups – I am very fortunate to teach two fitness classes this semester, and next semester too, and found this 3x/week 8 week training program so I’m all set to go!

6. Build Strength – I am committing to 3 strength workouts per week. I’m not yet sure whether I’m going to follow a specific program or do a variety of workouts, but will get that sorted before I head back to work on Monday.

7. Go to bed earlier – For me to be in bed by 9:30, I need to get the kids to bed by 7:30, make my lunch and give myself a bit of time to relax and unwind.

8. Blog more – My goal is to blog 5 days a week.

9. Run 3x a week – My plan is to run at work Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. I will run on my prep or my lunch and if the weather is too bad and I can’t run outside, I will stop at the gym on my way home for a treadmill run. To be successful I need to run before picking up the kids because there is very little chance of getting a run in after that.

10. Drink more water – I will carry a water bottle with me everywhere I go.

11. Read 52 books – Read one book a week (on average).

12. Take at least 2 family trips – Our trips will most likely occur during the summer, so we have a bit of time to choose where we will go and what we will do.

13. Date night once a month – In preparation for monthly date night, we need to choose a date, secure a babysitter and choose an activity.

For more information on how to Plan For Success, check out Fitness Cheerleader’s 31 Days to a Healthier You.

Well, it’s 9:40, I’m off to bed!

Have you written out your goals for 2013?
Have you devised an action plan?

I’d love to hear what it is you want to accomplish in 2013, let me know in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

