13 in 2013

I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions but definitely have a list of things I’d like to accomplish in 2013. So, here are 13 things I would like to do this year (in no particular order)…

20130101-213157.jpg

1. Spend less, save more – I don’t really consider myself to be a big spender, but I’d like to be more aware of where our money is going and pay off more of our debt.

2. Run a 1:58 half marathon – This past October I ran my first sub 2 hour half and this year I would love to shave 2 minutes off my PB.

3. Try one new clean eating recipe a week – Since returning to work at the end of November I have struggled to prepare clean meals. I love eating clean and hope that with a little planning and the commitment to try a new recipe each week, I will get back and stay on track!

4. Become a certified RPM instructor – I’m planning on going to instructor training in March, so hopefully I will be a certified instructor by June!

5. Do 10 chin-ups – Currently I can do…ZERO!

6. Build Strength – The majority of my workouts are cardio based (BodyAttack, RPM, running) and I really want to make strength training a bigger part of my workout routine. I’m looking forward to trying out some new workout styles and mixing things up this year!

7. Go to bed earlier – I’d love to make a habit of being in bed by 9:30 every night, with the idea of being asleep by 10. I definitely function better on a good night sleep and I really feel that there is a strong connection between sleep and overall health.

8. Blog more – I really enjoy blogging and want to grow my blog. I’m not exactly sure how to do this, but with more consistency and fresh ideas, I hope to make it happen!

9. Run 3x a week – I definitely need to run more consistently if I am going to reach goal #2 , especially in the off season. Realistically, with all of the other cardio I do, three 5k’ers would be awesome!

10. Drink more water – I’m aiming for at least 2 litres a day.

11. Read 52 books – I love to read, but unfortunately only make time for it before falling asleep each night. My goal is to read a book a week, which might be a bit much, but if I actually do go to bed earlier, I can squeeze in a bit of extra reading time 🙂

12. Take at least 2 family trips – Ideas include mini-vacation, camping, cottaging, or maybe even a beach vacation….

13. Date night once a month – My husband and I rarely find/make time to go out on a date and I vow to change that this year! We will go out on at least 12 dates – nothing fancy, just dinner and/ or a movie, something like that – a chance to catch up and focus our attention solely on each other, rather than dividing it between us and the kids.

What are your goals for 2013?

11 responses to “13 in 2013

  1. Date night is so nice. Even if all you do is sit in the car and take a nap. Lol!

  2. Great goals! 🙂 I may borrow some of them :)!

  3. Great goals 🙂 #5 would be the hardest for me! lol excited to see how it goes for you!

  4. Great goals! Not a fan of #5….but I love the rest of them 🙂

  5. Pingback: My Action Plan | Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

  6. Pingback: Date Night Fail(ish)! | Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

Leave a Reply

