Three Things Thursday – Being Sick Sucks!

It’s Thursday an I’m crazy sick so this is going to be a quick one!

1. Being sick sucks! – So I’ve had a chest cold for about 2 weeks now – well ever since I went back to work – and it’s killing me! I have no energy, I can barely breathe and I can’t lie down without having a ridiculous coughing fit! It totally sucks! I’m not a medicine person at all, but have actually resorted to Tylenol cold tablets (day and night) and Robitussin. I think they are helping, but I’m not sure masking the symptoms is really the answer.

20121213-210316.jpg

2. I actually stayed home from work yesterday because of my cold. I got home from work Tuesday night and could barely help with the kids and dinner. I finally threw in the towel at about 6:20 and went to bed. I grabbed a book and had a bit of a snuggle with my daughter, but was probably asleep by 8 at the latest. It was awesome! I slept about 11 hours, got up to help with the kids in the morning, and was asleep again by 9 for another 3 hours. I definitely needed it, and actually felt a bit better today. I’m so glad tomorrow is Friday – all I want to do this weekend is get some rest – not going to happen, but a girl can dream, right?

3. I’m off to watch Grey’s Anatomy and go to bed! Despite my plan if this being a quick post, that was not the case and now I’m 20 minutes late for the only show I watch on tv. It’s okay though, I’ve got it PVR’d and now I can fast forward though the commercials! I LOVE PVR!

That’s all for tonight, any suggestions on how to beat this lingering chest cold?

8 responses to “Three Things Thursday – Being Sick Sucks!

  1. I used to get them all the time! I found sleeping with my chest elevated helps keep my breathing clear. This in turn let me sleep which IMHO is the key to getting better. Sleep and ColdFX if you aren’t already taking it. Maybe it’s placebo but I swear it works. Just make sure to take them with food as it can be hard on your stomach. Feel better!

  2. Feel better! Have you tried vitamin c? A netty pot gets rid of mucus in your nose – that might help too.

  3. I agree – a netty pot or I do my own form of aromatherapy with tea tree oil. I put a few drops of tea tree oil in a bowl of almost boiling water. Hold a towel over my head and the bowl, then breathe in the steam. Repeat every few minutes until the water is cooled off. It really helps to loosen things up! And the tea tree oil is nature’s best medicine. Feel better soon!

  4. hot toddy! whiskey, green tea, honey, ginger, cinnamon and a cup water

  5. Second the hot toddy! You can also go old-school and use some VapoRub, or if you don’t fancy being drunk during the day, throwing half a lemon (cut into quarters) and about an inch of peeled and grated stem ginger into a teapot with some boiling water and steeping for a few minutes can help take the edge off (strain the bits off before drinking).

Leave a Reply

