Am I Crazy?

So last week I received a call from a colleague of mine asking if I might be interested in returning to work early from my maternity leave. She is scheduled to have surgery at the end of November and wondered if I’d like to come in and cover her classes while she is off.

In case you didn’t already know, I am a high school Health and Physical Education teacher on leave with baby #2 (Tanner) until just after the Christmas Holidays . I am scheduled to return to work on January 7, 2013. I’m pretty sure I have the sweetest job in the whole world – my teaching schedule is usually made up of one Healthy Active Living class (a regular phys.ed class – team and individual sports and games) and two Fitness classes (weight lifting, running, TRXing, circuit training, tabata…you name it!). Seriously, how awesome is that!

So, after thinking it over, discussing it with my husband, and sorting out daycare for the kids, I was actually pretty stoked about the possibility of returning early. I say possibility because both my Principal and Superintendent still had to approve this request. Well, yesterday it became official – I’m heading back to work November 27th – 6 weeks early!

I think I’m pretty excited?!?

I am definitely ready to go back to work; to have adult conversations and get back into the routine I have followed for the last 34 years. I love my job and the people I work with, and have actually really missed both while being off.

I will definitely miss spending time with my kids, Tanner is learning new things almost daily, and Ryan is growing into such a sweet little girl. I am one lucky momma!

20121106-140148.jpg

20121106-140203.jpg

I’m also going to miss going to the gym everyday. While on maternity leave I have had the luxury of going to the gym in the mornings which has made dinner time and evening routines a lot less hectic! I have, however, on occasion, taken the kids to the gym for a 5:45pm class, and it has worked out okay, so that’s always an option, and will hopefully become a once-a-week routine when I get my own BodyAttack class in the near future!

I will also miss having time to prepare delicious and healthy meals. Although I will not have as much time, I think being back in my old routine will help me use the time I do have more efficiently. Shopping will have to be done on the weekends, meals will have to be planned, and the time I have between the end of my workday and when I need to pick up the kids will have to be used well!

So with that being said, I have a ton of stuff to do in the next three weeks – while actually, the next two weeks since Hubby and I are going on vacation from the 15th to the 22nd. My original plan was to send both kids to daycare part-time in December and paint our bedroom, paint the upstairs bathrooms, get rid of all the junk, sort through the kids clothes, move the kids play area to the basement and get someone to come in and help us decide how to (better) finish our basement so it can be used as a play area and family room! I’m pretty sure that is not all going to get done in the next few weeks!!!

Time to prioritize! I’m off to go through the kids clothes and get rid of some junk!

8 responses to “Am I Crazy?

  1. That’s definitely a big to-do list to work through before you go back to work. Good idea to prioritize. I’d say I’m definitely crazy.. I went back to work after 4 months maternity leave with my daughter and after 3 months maternity leave with my son. I definitely missed work, adult conversation, the people I work with, and in general just using my brain, but looking back I do feel sad thinking about the things I missed during my children’s first year. I’m sure you’ll fall into a routine quickly.

  2. Beautiful kids! I went back after about 8 weeks with all 3 of my kids – I’m just not made to be at home fulltime. Great that you enjoy your job so much! Good luck getting through your list. You don’t have much time now with vacation! haha Enjoy!!

  3. Isn’t that always great when you’ve got the time to prep your meals , especially with kids around:))

  4. What a great job! It sounds like the early return was meant to be 🙂

  5. Tracy Rydzy, MSW, LSW

    Wow that’s a LOT earlier…sounds like you have a lot to do, make sure to leave time to take care of you, emotionally mentally and physically

  6. Tracy Rydzy, MSW, LSW

    Wow that’s a LOT earlier…sounds like you have a lot to do, make sure to leave time to take care of you, emotionally mentally and physically

  7. Your kids are so beautiful! It’s great that you have a job that you love and find fulfilling. Don’t worry about getting everything done before you go back. There will always be stuff in your in box, so make peace with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

