Motivational Monday – Halloween Challenge!

With Halloween only a couple of days away, the temptation to dig into those mini chocolate bars and sweet treats is building. If you are anything like me, you have trouble stopping at just one or two.

So, to help me get through Halloween without totally tipping the scales, I’ve decided to do join Kristen (befitwithkristen.com) in her Halloween Burpees Challenge.

Halloween-Challenge31

So, starting today, for every piece of candy I eat, I will be doing 10 burpees. I will be tweeting about my candy consumption for everyone to see at #EarnedMyTreat

Why not join me?

And for those of us with serious candy issues, here are a couple of tips to help minimize the binge!

1. Don’t buy your candy until the last possible minute and for extra insurance, buy the candy you don’t like!

2. Set a candy limit – allow yourself 1,2, maybe even 3 pieces of candy a day and think about when you would like eat them so you are sure to really enjoy them.

3. Save your wrappers – whether you keep them in a glass jar or a ziploc bag, having a visual representation of the amount of candy you are putting into your body is a huge eye-opener. Keeping that jar or ziploc in site might make you think twice about reaching for another piece.

4. Figure out how much exercise you need to do to burn off that piece of candy. Is that mini chocolate bar (80 calories) actually worth walking for 22 minutes? (source).

5. Get rid of the extras! Once trick-or-treating is over, give it to a neighbour, take it to work, or throw it out!

Well, I’m off to do 20 burpees – thank goodness the leftovers from the daycare treat bags are almost gone. I’m not buying anymore until Wednesday afternoon!

20121029-113558.jpg

How do you avoid the Halloween binge?
Are you going to join me in the Halloween Burpees Challenge?

9 responses to “Motivational Monday – Halloween Challenge!

  1. I don’t WANT to join you on this (I HATE burpies), but I NEED to. So I will. Hopefully my hate relationship with burpies will keep me out of the candy.

  2. Welcome to the challenge! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. OMG….my hubby opened the mini chocolate bars last night! Grrrr….I had taken them out and put them back, then he went down after me and opened them up! Those little chocolate bars are dangerous. I like the idea of keeping the wrappers I might try that 🙂

    • I think keeping the wrappers is a great idea…it’s so easy to lose track of how many tiny treats you’ve eaten…not anymore!

      Get your hubby to hide them from you…or just do a few burpees, you’ll soon realize its not worth it!

  4. Great idea!

  5. I hate burpees enough to think twice about snacking…too and I read this after coming back from the office kitchen when i ate a mini mr big bar, guess its 10 burpees for me! Will add them to my trainer bob workout tonight!

Leave a Reply

