What do you Eat Before A Workout? – August Writing Challenge #26

So, I totally missed yesterday’s post, but don’t worry – here it is! Yesterday’s Blogger Challenge Question was what do you eat before a workout?

Well, for me, it depends on the workout.

Before a Sunday morning long run I have a Vanilla Cliff Shot and a glass of water…usually about 15 minutes before heading out the door!

Before a weekday morning BodyAttack class, I usually have an oatmeal pancake. They are super yummy, easy to make, easy on the tummy and provide enough energy to make it through the one hour, high impact, cardio conditioning class.

Evening workouts are a little different – I’m still trying to figure out what works for me. I am definitely someone who needs to eat before a workout, but I have yet to find the balance between eating too early and eating too late, feeling like I’m going to barf, and feeling like I’m going to pass out!

So, what you eat before your morning/afternoon/evening workout?

6 responses to “What do you Eat Before A Workout? – August Writing Challenge #26

  1. I struggle with this all the time! Especially when we go on longer bike rides. I often don’t eat right before or after and feel like a shaky mess! Still trying to get it figured out 🙂

  2. I used to be the same way about having to have something before a workout, but since I upped my protein/fats and cut back on “white” carbs, I don’t need that anymore. I’ll easily go 2-3 hours between my last meal and workout. It’s weird, but guess you gotta find what works best for your body!

    • I think I’m heading in the right direction…trial and error has helped me figure out morning workout nutrition, but since I usually don’t workout in the evening, it hasn’t been an issue. But now that I am working out a couple evenings a week, I need to start playing around with things and get it sorted out, sooner rather than later. I’m going to try a protein snack in the afternoon and then try and hold dinner until after my workout. Thanks for the tip, I will let you know how it goes 🙂

  3. I don’t usually eat anything before I run. I run early, (4 a.m., 4:30 at the latest), so for me the idea of choking down food prior to running is unpleasant. If I’m going on a long run (15+ miles) I’ll take gu or stingers and eat those after a couple of hours of running. This seems to work well for me. I lift in the evenings but don’t normally eat right before I do that either. My regular diet is such that my late afternoon snack is generally enough to push me through the workout and then I will eat something after. Again, this works for me, but its been a process (and not always pretty) figuring it out over the last couple of years.

Leave a Reply

