Clean Eating Challenge: Day 40!!

Saturday, June 30
Day 40

 

 

 

Breakfast – Green Smoothie #29 – Strawberry Banana – today was the last day of the Green Smoothie Challenge – I had 29 smoothies in 30 days…not bad! I will definitely be continuing with the Green Smoothie – I totally loved them, and to believe 31 days ago, I had NEVER had one…Thanks Amanda for organizing this challenge and introducing me to the Green Smoothie!

Lunch – McDonald’s Breakfast Burrito Combo – no drink – on our drive north to visit my parent’s for the weekend, we stopped at McDonald’s to grab lunch – totally not clean:( and was kinda surprised at just how unhealthy a breakfast burrito could be…totally shocked to find out one sausage mcmuffin with egg has less calories and fat than two breakfast burritos. As you can see, my meal was a whopping 760 calories and 43 grams of fat…can you say d.i.s.g.u.s.t.i.n.g!

20120702-205712.jpg

Afternoon Snack – Hard Boiled Egg and two Pumpernickel Flatbreads

Dinner – Pork Tenderloin with a Lentil, Rice, Cucumber and Tomato Salad and a Tomato and Cucumber Salad, a glass of Skim Milk

Sorry no pictures today – we were visiting my Mom out of town for the weekend and I totally forgot to take them. Oops!

Water Consumption:

6 glasses

Sleep:

4 hours – the kids did not do well sleeping at Grandma’s let’s hope for a better night tonight!!

Stay tuned for my 40 Day Clean Eating Challenge Review!

7 responses to “Clean Eating Challenge: Day 40!!

  1. I was contemplating what my life is going to be like if I decide to stay wheat free and I was thinking about trips and how it’s hard to NOT stop at fast food along the way when you travel. Hard to make a good decision, but at least the rest of your day was on track and that’s the best you can do!

    • Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

      I think if you plan well, you can travel and eat healthy no matter what your diet is like. Wheat free is definitely difficult though, I was gluten free for a few years – but since getting pregnant with my daughter I have been able to eat anything 🙂 Apparently there may come a time when I can no longer tollerate wheat again, but for now, I’m enjoying every single bit! A lot of restaurants in our area are now offering gluten free menus which does make things easier, but it still doesn’t guarantee you make the healthy choice!

  2. Really enjoyed reading about your 40 day eating clean challenge! Just curious, did you stop after 40 days or decide to stick to it as much as you could? I’m a stay at home mom of a 2 year old girl and 3 month old boy, and I’ve been eating clean for 9 days now! Also, are you nursing or bottle feeding? If nursing, did you notice any change in your milk supply? Thanks!!

    • Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

      I do still eat clean, I’m a little less intense than I was for those 40 days. I went on a complete junk food binge the weekend I finished and felt like crap for days. I totally realized clean eating is what works for me.

      I like the food, I think there was only 1 recipe that I wasn’t too keen on that whole time. I love that you can still eat cookies and other treats and since I love to bake, it’s perfect. I don’t really think its much more work than cooking other foods, maybe a bit more expensive, but well worth it.

      I was breast feeding for a bit and didn’t notice any changes in my supply. Are you finding a change In your supply? I did find it difficult to find time to cook while looking after my toddler and a newborn, I started prepping and sometimes even cooking during afternoon nap time…it worked well, and I actually still do it.

      Have you noticed any changes since starting to eat clean?

      • I’ve always had a problem with supply, but these past 3 days I feel like its worse. I thought kicking my diet coke habit and drinking lots of water would help, but it hasn’t. Then again, baby could just be going thrOugh a growth spurt.
        I LOVE baking. The only way I am able to get my husband to try to eat clean is because I make things like clean coconut cream pie and clean peanut butter cookies! Haha

  3. Hi! Came across your site from The Lean Green Bean… like you I was totally surprised at how unhealthy a McDonald’s breakfast burrito was.. I didn’t think it would be that bad.. a tiny little burrito, sausage, eggs, cheese, some veggies.. hehe.. how deceiving! How if I am having breakfast at McDonald’s, I have the egg mcmuffin without butter or cheese..

    Looking forward to reading more …

    • Thanks for stopping by!

      I haven’t had McDonalds breakfast since! I was so shocked!

      I’ve downloaded the McDonald’s app so I can check out the nutritional info before I go, and try to choose a less unhealthy option!

Leave a Reply

