40 Day Clean Eating Challenge

Lately I have not been eating very clean and it is totally affecting everything about me. I’m tired, lacking energy, rundown, lacking patience, and at times, kinda bitchy!

To get me back on track, I am going to do a 40 Day Clean Eating Challenge. I’m going to eat clean, and only clean, from now – May 22nd until June 30th. My original thought was to challenge myself through the month of June…then I thought…why not start after my Half Marathon next weekend?..and then I realized that eating better before the run would probably be pretty helpful come race day….

20120522-085339.jpg

So, I’m starting today – Tuesday, May 22nd, I am challenging myself to 40 days of Eating Clean! With the exception of next Sunday – I am allowing myself a one day lapse to enjoy a Corona or two and maybe a non-clean lunch after my Half Marathon.

20120522-085758.jpg

So, what exactly is Eating Clean? Well, it’s:

  • eating 5 to 6 small meals each day
  • eating every 2-3 hours
  • eating lean protein and complex carbs at each meal
  • drinking at least 8 cups of water each day
  • avoiding processed and refined foods – especially white flour and sugar
  • avoiding foods high in saturated and trans fats
  • avoiding sugary foods – like pop, candy and fruit jiuce
  • avoiding fried foods
  • eating healthy fats
  • avoiding alcohol
  • being conscious of portion size
  • eating slowly
  • packing healthy lunches and snacks
So…my plan is to
  • plan my weekly meals and snack
  • make a weekly grocery list to go along with my menu (and actually bring it to the store with me!)
  • prepare dinners that are large enough to have leftovers for lunch the next day
  • bake Clean snacks (treats) to always have on hand so I am not tempted my other not-so-healthy treats
  • use YOU to help me stay on track – on top of my (somewhat) regular posts, I am also going to post about my Clean Eating Challenge – but don’t worry… I won’t bombard you with posts

What do I hope to accomplish? Well, that’s easy!

  1. Better eating habits – I figure by ONLY eating clean for 40 days I will overcome my sugar cravings and be all set to carry on with the Clean Eating lifestyle.
  2. More energy! By filling my body with clean, healthy foods, Iknow I will feel better and be energized!
  3. Sleep better. I used to sleep great, but lately, I have really been struggling at both falling and staying asleep. I’m hoping that eating less sugar and drinking less caffeine will help.
  4. Less cranky and more patience. If I’m feeling better, have more energy and get more sleep, I’m pretty sure this will just happen, at least that’s what I’m hoping!
  5. Get lean. By Eating Clean and workout out regularly I hope to lean up a but more and finally reach my body fat percentage goal.


20120522-100001.jpg

This Week’s Menu

TuesdayEgg White and Turkey Scramble (from The Eat Clean Diet Cookbook)

WednesdayEat Clean Chicken, Spinach and Ricotta Quesadillas (from The Eat Clean Diet Cookbook)

Thursday – Eat Clean BBQ Chicken Deep Dish Pizza (from Clean Eating Classic Comfort Foods 2012)

Friday – leftovers

Saturday – Eat Clean Sausage and Pepper Penne (from Clean Eating Classic Comfort Foods 2012)

Treat – Eat Clean Caramel Coconut Chewy Bars (also from Clean Eating Classic Comfort Foods 2012)

So, why don’t you join meย for The 40 Day Eat Clean Challenge?

I’d love to hear how it goes and what Clean Eating recipes you are trying.

15 responses to “40 Day Clean Eating Challenge

  1. I’m in! Too bad I didn’t read this before I had a Starbucks Chai Latte for breakfast! I will need to hit the grocery store and stock up before I can jump on board full swing, but I love the idea. Guess I better hit my clean eating cookbooks and magazines to plan out my food for the week!

    • Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

      Awesome! It will be fun! Always better to do stuff like this with others. Keep me updated on how it’s going!

  2. lindsaylapaugh

    Excited to follow your challenge!

    • Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

      Thanks! I see you are doing a vegan challenge! Wow! I’m not sure I could do that! Well done!

  3. Pingback: Five! « My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

  4. Great challenge to give yourself, Erin! How is it going so far?

    • Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

      It’s going quite well actually! It’s not really as hard as I thought it would be. I have had a few slip ups, but have shrugged them off ang got right back to eating clean. I’m definitely feeling better, have more energy, and sleeping better too.

      Try not to beat yourself up over slip ups…just do what you can to avoid being in that situation again. If you struggle on weekends, maybe write out your meal plan beforehand, and work a sticking to it. Just a suggestion. Good luck! I know what it’s like to have a spouse that eats anything and everything and is constantly bringing junk food into the house. It’s a try test of your willpower!

  5. Sounds like a great plan! I did something similar…it’s called the Daniel Fast, but it was only for 21 days. But it was very similar to this, no meat either. It was a Vegan diet, but more restricted because you couldn’t eat white flour, sugar, cheese, processed foods, etc. It really does make you feel a lot better!

    • Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

      Wow, that fast seems a bit to difficult for me…I definitely need to eat meat! Are you a vegan?

      I feel sooo much better! Its awesome!

  6. Pingback: Food for Thought & what was I Thinking?! | thirtystory

  7. I certainly want to try this as well. I find that the weekends are the most difficult, but as you mentioned having your treats all planned out probably makes a world of difference!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

      I found that planning was key! And meals that made enough for leftovers – made lunches easy and prevented late afternoon unhealthy snacking.

      Give it a try and let me know how it goes ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this blog’s posts every day along with a mug of coffee.

Leave a Reply

