Three Things Thursday!

1. This week I signed up for The Jelly Bean Run with Run With Jess, my first (and second) ever virtual race 🙂

What’s a virtual race, you ask? Well, It’s running a specified distance (timed) without being present in the actual race location. Runs were to be done anytime during the week if April 1 to 8. There were 4 distance options: 5k (3.1 miles), 10k (6.2 miles), half marathon (13.1 miles) or a 21k (13 mile) bike.

Since you could do more than one event, I chose to do both the 5k and 10k races. I did the 10k on Sunday (as part of mile 8 mile long run) in 1:05, and ran the 5k this morning as part of my hill training in 31:20.

Now, I just have to submit my times, and my race season has begun!

Have you ever done a virtual race?

I’m interested in hearing about others!

2. It’s time to start thinking about Race Day fuel. With only 6 or 7 long runs left before race day, I need to start figuring out how I’m going to keep my energy up throughout the half marathon. In the past I’ve tried Sport Beans and a few gels, neither of which sat very well in my stomach. I’m hoping to hit the The Running Room before this weeks long run and check out a few options.

What do you use to fuel your long runs and races?

3. This weeks Dinner Sharesies was another huge success! I ended up making Eat Clean Mediterranean Vegetable Bean and Feta Penne and in return I got super yummy Eat Clean Rosemary Chicken and Potato Salad, click here for the recipe.

Eat Clean Mediterranean Vegetable, Bean and Feta Penne

Eat Clean Rosemary Chicken Potato Salad

Not only does Dinner Sharesies mean I’m not eating the same thing for leftovers day after day, but it gives me a break from cooking dinner one night a week and has given my the chance try to things I haven’t had before. I will definitely be making the stuffed peppers and rosemary chicken and potato salad, they we’re both delicious! Thanks Kim!

Have you found a friend to do Dinner Sharesies with?

If not, you really should, it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

