Hills and Fish…Don’t Love Either!

Today’s workout according to my Half Marathon Training Schedule is 5 hills 😦 I really have no idea how to run hills on a treadmill, so I stuck with the same format as last week, and just added one hill. After a 1 mile warm-up, I did 5 hills at a pace of 5.5 mph and an incline of 15 (the highest the treadmill will go). I don’t think hills that steep actually exist in this world, so I’m thinking I will be good and ready for any hills that pop up on race day.With a 2 minute rest (walking) after each hill, I actually didn’t feel too bad! I finished the run off with a 1 mile cool down and called it a day!

After the gym, it was time to get cooking! If you checked out this weeks Motivational Monday post, you would know that I desperately need to clean up my eating! Today I made two things from the March 2011 issue of Clean Eating Magazine: Easy Make-Ahead Breakfast Quiche (p. 24) and Baked Manicotti Bundles (p. 72).

I figured I’d make the quiches to have for breakfast tomorrow and to have for snacks over the next couple of days. I haven’t tried them yet, but they sure look yummy! They were very quick and easy to make: saute red and yellow peppers and green onion (the recipe called for mushrooms…yuck!), put in bottom of ramekin, cover with lightly beaten egg, top with goat cheese and a sprinkle of parm and put in the oven at 350 for 25 minutes.

The Baked Manicotti Bundles are stuffed with tilapia and mozzerella cheese. I’m kinda surprised I made these since I’m not a big fan of fish, but since its so good for you, I thought I’d give it a try.

All things considered, these weren’t too bad! If you actually like fish, you will probably love them! They did however, take a little more work to prepare, but overall were pretty easy to make.

Click here to see the recipe.

So, today’s hill workout actually got me thinking a little bit about the race. It’s 2 months away to the day, and I have no idea what the route is like. My main concern: hills! Is it a hilly route? Here’s the elevation map – check out that hill…ya, I’m talking about the one that starts at km 11 and peaks just before km 14….YIKES! Hill training is a must! Have you ever done hill training on a treadmill? I’d love to know how to do it properly!

4 responses to “Hills and Fish…Don’t Love Either!

  1. CRAP! That hill is huge,well maybe not huge, it’s only 120 difference in elevation, but it goes on for 3k!!! It’s going to kill me. My “couch to half” program doesn’t have any hill training it. I guess I should try to get some hill training in there somewhere. I think my treadmill has a hill setting…might have to try it out tomorrow. You’re little quiches look great. you’re a better person than I am for trying the fish. No fish for me. They look good aside from the fish! Good cooking, Inny!

    • happierhealthiermorefitme

      Hahaha! Hill training might be a good idea, but besides that one big, long, gradual hill, the rest looks pretty good. Maybe we should go for a drive over there someday and check it out a little closer.

  2. Yum, def. want to try the quiches…Keep up the good work Erin.

Leave a Reply

