Skinny Jeans Challenge – Day 1

Today marks the beginning of the Skinny Jeans Challenge at my local gym.

The Skinny Jeans Challenge is a 14 week program involving pre and post challenge assessments (weight, measurements, strength, flexibility, and endurance tests), 2 personal training sessions a week, a challenge success journal, weekly weigh-ins, weekly healthy recipes, motivational emails, and 24 hour email support from the trainer.

At the end of the 14 weeks, prizes will be awarded for highest percentage of weight loss, highest percentage of inches lost, largest percentage of increase in number of push-ups completed, largest increase in percentage of length of plank time completed, and most number of workouts. I have no idea what the prizes are, but I LOOOOOVE prizes!

Before we started today’s workout, I had baseline measurements taken. Despite being only 5 pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight, I am so far off in terms of body composition it’s scary! Having my measurements taken was a real eye opener, and definitely serves as a motivator for me to start eating healthier!

I’ve never done personal training before, and I’d have to say it was awesome! Today’s workout was fun and challenging. I can honestly say that if I did that same workout in my own, I would have definitely slacked off, maybe even quit before finishing. Kari (the personal trainer) is super motivating and made sure everyone (there were 5 of us) had a great workout despite varying levels of fitness.

Another part of the Challenge is keeping a food and exercise journal. Writing down what you eat definitely makes you more aware and accountable, but having to show your journal to someone else, wow, holy motivator! I definitely thought about what I put in my mouth today, and I actually sat down and planned healthy meals for the whole week. Tonight’s dinner- pork tenderloin, asparagus and sweet potatoes, and let me tell you, it was super yummy! Looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow….that’s if my husband doesn’t get to it first!

So, ya, that’s the Skinny Jeans Challenge. I’m very much looking forward to Friday’s workout and a week of healthy eating! Stay tuned for weekly updates!

2 responses to “Skinny Jeans Challenge – Day 1

  1. Good luck, Inny. You get all motivated up and then come share it with me, because I am lacking int that area for sure! Ugh…

    • happierhealthiermorefitme

      Thanks Og! The workout was great and you could do it at home for sure. It only took 30 minutes, but I got a sweat on and my heart rate up! I’m definitely feeling it in my legs today!

Leave a Reply

