Desperately. Need. Sleep.

On the topic of Happier and Healthier, I need to discuss the issue of sleep, or lack of!

It’s been just over 10 weeks since I have had a decent nights sleep (also just over 10 weeks since Tanner was born), and it’s finally starting to take it’s toll on me! Don’t get me wrong, Tanner has made some huge progress in the sleep department in the last little while, but we still have such a long way to go!

For the first few weeks Tanner was sleeping in our room and the transition to his crib took a while. He really didn’t seem to like to lie on his back or to be swaddled, but we forced the swaddle and put him in his crib in the bouncy chair. This worked great until he started to squirm a lot and I got worried he might slide out the bottom. πŸ™‚ Again, after several days/weeks, we managed to get him to sleep in the crib – in the bassinet the – yay, progress! Well, the squirmy little guy is now outgrowing the bassinet and the challenge continues as we work on having him sleep just in his crib.

Seriously, this seems crazy to me, especially since my daughter slept in her crib from the time she was 3 days old! She was also sleeping through the night by 9 weeks.

Is it just a boy thing, or what?

Throughout this whole process, Tanner has continued to wake up on average every two hours through the night. Which, as many of you know from experience, totally sucks! It wouldn’t be so bad if I could just fall asleep right away after feeding him, but most nights I’m up from at least one feeding to the next, trying to fall asleep. Brutal!

Since Tanner’s one month Well Baby check, the doctor has said he does not need to be eating so often in the night…the little chunk weighted just over 10 pounds – a gain of almost 3 pounds in one month! Most babies go longer between feeding at night…not this guy! He goes a solid 4 hours during the day, but no such thing at night 😦 At only 4 weeks old, I was not too comfortable (and I’m still not) with letting him cry it out. For one, I think he’s still a bit too young, and two, I don’t want him to wake up my daughter.

So, we are off to the doctor again on Tuesday, and sadly I will have to report no progress on sleeping through the night 😦 At this point I’m pretty sure Tanner is not hungry every two hours – or maybe he is? I’m exclusively breast feeding him, so maybe he is not getting enough? I really just think its a comfort thing, and that he has trouble getting himself back to sleep once he wakes up.

So, here’s what I’ve tried so far to get him to sleep longer.

1. Swaddling

2. Cluster feeding

3. Top up with bottle of before bed – he does not like the bottle, but has been better the past few nights

4. Comforting him (rather than feeding him right away) when he wakes up if it has not been 4 hours since his last feeding

5. Sticking to a bedtime routine – bath, story with Ryan, feeding, bed.

6. Reading The Baby Whisperer – hoping for some good tips from there!

It seems like just as Tanner is making some progress, he hits a growth spurt and we’re back at square one!

So, I’m looking for suggestions, tips, tricks…anything you can share to help us get a good nights sleep. What worked for you? I’m all ears!

2 responses to “Desperately. Need. Sleep.

  1. First of all…. I LOVE the blog… You are a super woman. Having said that even super woman gets ill, and without sleep and overall rest you are gonna get it :-(. My advice on the sleep thing is this: under 5/6 months of age you go with whatever Tanner wants. Forget the sleeping in the crib etc…. You’ll deal with that at 5/6 months and it only takes a week. Keep him close by and feed him. He may very well be looking for comfort and right now a boob might be it! It’s impossible to know if he’s going through a growth spurt or looking for comfort at this age. I personally don’t believe in letting a baby under 5 months cry it out, but that’s my personal opinion.
    If you want to try and stretch out his feeding i recommend this:
    – during Ryan hours try feeding him every 3 hours, don’t let him go any longer than that. Non Ryan hrs (3 hrs if he does it…) and if not, slowly stretch it:
    Mon/tues- try stretching his feedings to 2hrs 15 min.
    Wed/thurs – 2 hrs 30 min
    Fri/sat – 2 hrs 45 min
    And now to 3 hrs around the clock.

    Annette was an every 2 hr baby for the first 3 months, I kept her in the bassinet beside my bed and that made it easier to fall back asleep.

    And no reading during Ryan’s nap time, or closet cleaning…..1-3 is nap time for mom too!! You have a year off…. Pace yourself! Do your training in the am, sleep in the afternoon and your house stuff in the evening. For now, everything else waits. (are u saying yes mom!, lol)

    *hugs

    • happierhealthiermorefitme

      Thanks Kim! Glad you like the blog, I’m really enjoying it, which is kinda weird because I’m not a writer at all!

      Thanks for the advice about Tanner. I definitely needed to be reminded that he is the boss, and that I just need to go with the flow. He’s still so young and so tiny, but it’s good to hear that he will grow out of it πŸ™‚

      I hope you know how much I value your opinion. Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

