Oh How I Love the Tricky Mile!

So, as you know, I’m currently training for the Toronto Women’s Half Marathon on May 27th. This will be my 5th Half Marathon (I’ve also done 1 Full Marathon), but it’s been about 3 years since I’ve actually trained for a run. Before having kids I was doing one, maybe 2, ‘big’ races a year, along with a 5 or 10 km race here or there.

Every time I have ever trained for a big run I’ve always measured my distances in kilometers, but this time, since I’ve only done treadmill runs to date, I have been measuring distances in miles. And I must say, I totally love it!

Focusing on miles means that instead of doing a long run of 11 kilometers, I only have to run 7 miles. Instead of running 6km every thursday, I only have to run 4 miles! I know that it’s the same distance (or very close to it) in the end, but the fact that the number is smaller, is totally working for me.

My last long run was 7 miles and as I said in my “Take That, Long Run!” post, it was a great run! After I finished the run, I kept thinking how awesome it was that I had just run more than half the actual race distance (13.1 miles) and felt great! I said to myself, I can totally do 13.1 miles! No problem!

Now, let’s look at that run from the perspective of kilometers. I ran 11 km – still more than half of the total race distance of 21.1 km – and it still felt great. But to say to myself I have to run 21.1 kilometers on race day, to think that this run was 10 kilometers less than that distance, well, that just seems so far…so painful, so unachievable! I know it totally doesn’t make sense, but it’s working for me!

So, I’m going to stick with it! I going to focus on the fact that I’m only 5.1 miles shy of race distance, with 10 weeks of training to go. I going to focus on the fact that 13.1 miles seems doable! I’m going to use this trickery to my advantage, I’m going to focus on the fact that I have run 56 miles to date in my training – which is actually 89.6 kilometers – now that’s FAR!!

And, today, I’m going to focus on the fact that tomorrow is a rest day! Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

