Race Pace Defined and Kicking the Clutter – Part 2

According to my Half Marathon Training Schedule, today’s run is 4 miles at race pace. In order to run at race pace, I need to actually figure out what that pace is. Enter pace calculator!

My goal is to finish the half in two hours. In order to do this , the pace calculator says I need to run a 9:10 mile. WOW! That seems pretty fast – much faster than I have been running so far in my training. Good thing I’m only 3 weeks in and have a lot of time to work on improving my speed!

That said, I did today’s 4 miles in 37:40 – a 9:25 mile. Not too bad, especially considering I did a 5 minute warm up before jacking up the speed to 6.0 on the treadmill. I won’t lie, the last 1.5 miles were not easy, but I didn’t’ quit and didn’t take any walk breaks (even though I wanted to…. many, many, many times!).

Until right now, I had no idea that I was running that close to race pace, I thought I was going much slower. I know I still have to work on being able to maintain that pace….FOR 13.1 MILES!!!….but I’m thinking this is a pretty good start! I kinda feel like I might actually be able to accomplish my goal of a 2 hour half! I have a lot of work to do between now and May 27th, but I’m definitely on the right track!

Now to get on with my day – I think I’m going to start to tackle my next de-cluttering project – our storage closet. It’s ridiculously full of baby clothes we were holding on to in case we had another girl, but, since we had a boy… no need to keep them! I’m going to sort them out and pass them off to some friends! Wish me luck! I have a feeling this is going to take a while!

Leave a Reply

