Take That, Long Run!

So this mornings 7 mile run was awesome! Despite this lingering cold and another crappy sleep, I kicked this run’s ass! How, you ask?

First – training – even though I’m only 4 weeks into the training program, I truly believe that the miles I’ve logged to date are building a solid base. I also think that since I’m getting into intensity based runs (race pace, hills and fartleks) and doing BodyAttack as my cross training my endurance is improving.

Second – friends- – I have to say that chatting with a few friends while running really helped pass the time and miles. Around the 3.5 mile mark, I ran (no pun intended) into my friend Ruth who I have not seen in forever and while she did her workout on the treadmill beside me we spent a solid 20 minutes catching up! It was great! Also, my friend Nikki stopped to chat for a few minutes as she was passing by, we chatted about our babies, lack of sleep and feeding schedules. Pretty exciting stuff, I know, but it made the second last mile so easy, I skipped my last 1 minute walk and jacked up the speed to finish.

And last but not least – the music – I have yet to update my playlist but the random tunes that played today were awesome!
Don’t forget to send me your faves, I need at least 2.5 hours of pump me up tunes to get me through the race!

Well, that’s it, three small things that had a big impact on today’s run! I hope next weeks long run is just as good!

Leave a Reply

