Pancakes, Pancakes, Leftovers

After another rough night with my little guy, I needed a little extra something for breakfast this morning before hitting the gym to do my 4 mile run. So I made a super yummy, super easy, oatmeal pancake. I got this recipe from my friend Kathy 4 or 5 years ago, and still to this day, it’s one of my favorite breakfasts – it’s quick, tastes great and gives me the energy I need to complete my morning workout.

Here’s how to make it:
In a small bowl mix together:

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pancake

  • 1/2 cup quick cook oats
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 2 tbsp flax seed
  • little bit of honey
  • couple shakes of  cinnamon
  • and just to jazz it up a little I like to toss in 1 tbsp chocolate chips, or some blueberries, bananas  or apple chunks  – why not experiment with your favorite fruit?

Then, cook just like a pancake! Yep, its that easy! And, that good!

After hitting the gym  and completing my not so fun 4 mile run, it was time for lunch. It seems like lately the only thing my daughter wants to eat is pancakes. So, you guessed it, for lunch, I made pancakes! Not the usual Aunt Jamima add water variety that we have been having lately. Nope. Today in sticking with my Eat Clean goal, I made Eat Clean Cottage Cheese Pancakes – I know, sounds kinda gross, doesn’t it! Well, they’re actually really good! And, the recipe makes enough to have leftovers, just pop them in the toaster and bingo, you have breakfast tomorrow, or a snack for later in the day. Why not give them a try?

Here’s the recipe:                                                                                            In a medium sized bowl, combine the following dry ingredients:

Eat Clean Pancakes

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp maple sugar flakes (I used maple syrup instead so added it to the wet ingredients)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Make a well in the  center.                            Then combine the following wet ingredients in a small bowl:

  • 8 egg whites
  • 1 cup fat free cottage cheese
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (I use Greek yogurt for extra protein)

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until moistened. Use 1/4 cup for each pancake. Top with maple syrup and/or fresh fruit and enjoy!

Dinner tonight is going to be leftover Spaghetti Squash. Yep, I cooked a yummy Eat Clean dinner last night. I followed a Precision Nutrition recipe that can be found here. I did make a few changes – I used ground chicken instead of sirloin and shredded the spaghetti squash and used like a pasta and set my meat sauce on top of it instead of scooping it out with a spoon and adding it to the sauce. It was super easy and really, really yummy! Even my 2 year old daughter Ryan ate it!

Spaghetti Squash with a Ground Chicken Meat Sauce

Well, that’s all for today. Tomorrow is a rest day and I am super pumped! I definitely need the rest!

Leave a Reply

